Graham Borg, Hannah Pace retain Sprint Triathlon Championship Titles

23rd Sep 2018

In: Triathlon, Multisport Post By: Maria

Michael Bongailas, Anjelika Ruggier secure Birkirkara St. Joseph Triathlon Series Titles

Graham Borg and Hannah Pace retained their Sprint Triathlon Championships title today, when in Salina both gave noteworthy performances. 

The Sprint National Triathlon Championships and the last race of the Birkirkara St. Joseph Triathlon Series were held in near perfect conditions.  With both Borg and Pace returning to short distance racing after having competed in longer distances races, it was going to be an interesting competition, in only to see whether their transition from long distance to short distance would be seamless.

The 750-metre swim took in a calm glassy sea and similar to the previous race saw Bernard Sant first out of the water, followed by Shaun Galea and Graham Borg.  Despite a promising start, technical issues forced Sant to retire leaving the playing field open for a well fought battle between Galea and Borg. Galea fresh from his win in the last Sprint Triathlon Series was going to go all out in an attempt to secure the title, however Borg, despite having only returned from his Ironman 70.3 race a few weeks ago was determined not to give up easily. As the race progressed, Borg widened the gap between him and Galea on the 20km bike segment to give Borg a comfortable gap in the start of the 5km run.  With Galea’s strong determination and run performance the gap narrowed again with Galea gaining ground on Borg.  Yet determination from Borg’s side was put in to action to see Borg win the Championship title with a thirty-four second advantage on Galea.  In third place was Kevin Muscat, who has shown considerable improvement in the past races.   Fastest run split of the day was registered by Jesrit Camilleri.


Graham Borg crossing the finish line | Photo Credit Angie Conti

The female segment saw Hannah Pace first female and fourth athlete out of the water to take the lead on the bike segment. Margaret Seguna, winner of the previous races was out of the water twenty-seven seconds behind Pace to follow her on the bike segment.  Despite valiant attempts from Seguna to keep the gap between her and Pace to a bare minimum, in the end Pace upped the speed to gain a 3 minutes 21 seconds advantage as she advanced into the run.  Pace retained her title for another consecutive year when she crossed the finish line nearly three minutes ahead of Seguna. Seguna, nevertheless registered the fastest female run split for the day. In third place was Lara Buttigieg, crossing the line nearly six minutes after Seguna.  Similar to Borg, Pace has just returned to short distance racing after having ran her first Ironman race in Copenhagen a few weeks ago.  Pace broke the local national record and won third place in her Age Group.


Hannah Pace in the final run segment | Photo Credit Angie Conti

The race was also the fourth and final race of the Birkirkara St. Joseph Sprint Triathlon Series which saw Michael Bongailas and Anjelika Ruggier crowned overall winners of the Series having garnered the most points based on their participation in all the races of the Series.

“This race concludes the Birkirkara St. Joseph Summer of Sport, which has been, once again a thoroughly successful summer.  This is thanks to the athletes’ participation but also the support of the authorities who assist us in the organisation of such events” commented Euchar Camilleri, Secretary General, Birkirkara St. Joseph Sports Club. “Nevertheless, we now look forward to the winter season which focuses on athletics event, namely the Eurosport Malta International Challenge Marathon in November and the Eurosport 5k and 10k Road Races in December”.

Prizes to the winners of the Birkirkara St. Joseph Triathlon Series were presented by Club Officials Maria Vella-Galea and Barry Whitmore, whilst National Sprint Triathlon Series winners were presented trophies by the Malta Triathlon Federation President Cyprian Dalli.

Birkirkara St. Joseph Triathlon Series Winners


Michael Bongailas

Anjelika Ruggier


Kevin Muscat

Juliya Azzopardi Mazur


Jesrit Camilleri



National Sprint Triathlon Championships


Graham Borg

Hannah Pace


Shaun Galea

Margaret Seguna


Kevin Muscat

Lara Buttigieg

LR Male Winners - 2018 Sprint Tri

National Sprint Triathlon Championships Male Winners Podium | Photo Credit - emvigee pr & marketing - Maria Vella-Galea

Ladies Winners - 2018 Sprint Tri

National Sprint Triathlon Championships Female Winners Podium | Photo Credit - emvigee pr & marketing - Maria Vella-Galea